jump to navigation

A Breast Cancer Survivor Gives Special Thanks During the Holiday Season November 25, 2009

Posted by mcleodcancercenter in Uncategorized.
trackback

Debbie Quick, Registered Nurse in the McLeod Radiology Department

We all start planning for our Thanksgiving meal before that day arrives; much preparation with cleaning and cooking. One Thanksgiving I will always remember is the year I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I was a 36 year old mother of a four and a half year old little girl. This was the day before Thanksgiving. Talk about change of plans for the upcoming Christmas.

My mastectomy was on December 4 and my chemotherapy began two weeks before Christmas. Can you imagine all of the excitement of hanging decorations, shopping for our daughter, cooking and all of those activities that go along with the celebration of Jesus’ birth?  While the whole time my mind was on survival. After all, I was told that even with treatment my life span would probably only be 5 years or less.

As for starting the New Year, well, my hair fell out on New Year’s Eve. What a way to start off a new year. A year that included 37 radiation treatments that followed the 6 months of chemotherapy I had just completed. There were also multiple reconstructive surgeries.

All of this was a true “bend in the road” for me. However, it was one that would impact my family and me for years to come. We all cherish this Thanksgiving season and truly “give thanks with a grateful heart.”

This experience in my life has given me a greater level of compassion for my patients.  I know firsthand the various emotions and physical changes our patients and families have to work through.  I believe that I was allowed to be diagnosed with breast cancer so that in the years to come I could encourage and lift others up in their struggles and offer them HOPE.

I have been actively involved in Relay for Life for many years. I have been a spokesperson for McLeod in the past. I also served as co-chair for the 2009 Relay for Life event and am presently serving in that same position for 2010.

Please know that you can only take one day at a time during this process. My life verse has been Philippians 4:13 “I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me.” I wish you all a Happy Thanksgiving, Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year as this is my 18th anniversary as a cancer survivor!

Comments»

1. Debbie Meggs - November 26, 2009

What a testimony to our Lord, the doctor’s tell you maybe 5 years, and God says “hold on, I have other plans”. Thanks for giving my faith the boost it has been needing last couple of weeks. I love you!!!


Leave a comment